Wrapping Up the Weekend… Late Edition

21 Jun

It is already Tuesday… where did the weekend go?

I spent my weekend on the go, that’s for sure!

Friday I met some friends at Sweet Tomatoes for lunch.  I arranged this little get together, because, though I am in school, other people are on summer break. Rachel is a teacher.  Michele is in nursing school.  Alyssa has Friday’s off.  Trish is staying home these days with Dominic, her new little boy.

Sweet Tomatoes is one of my favorite restaurants to go to these days because I can eat most of what they serve.  It is the only restaurant that is a buffet that I care to frequent. If you have never been there, you need to give it a try.

They have a salad bar that is huge and as fresh as can be.  There is fresh baked bread, baked regular and sweet potatoes, muffins, hot pastas, soups, fruit, and dessert.

I managed to eat everything in this picture and a very cold apple.  I ate slowly, so as not to get overfilled.  I left feeling satisfied, but not stuffed.  My approach to a buffet is to get everything I intend to eat at once, so I can see it all in front of me. I think I am less likely to go back for something I do not really need to eat.

I will admit that bread is a major weakness for me. Warm and chewy.

June is cherry month at Sweet Tomatoes, so they had these cherry nut muffins and the above pictured cherry butter. I never use butter, but cherry butter intrigued me.  It was wonderful on a piece of whole wheat bread.

I was able to get in a little practice swimming in the pool on Friday afternoon.  I have never felt more uncoordinated than I do in the water. I tried to incorporate breathing and it did not go so well. Jesse said that I am getting better though.  He is the pro, so I will take that.

Saturday began with a 4 mile run at 6:30 am. I actually ran 3.9, because I started cooling down one culdasack too soon, but I did finish that in 48 minutes.  It was a beautiful morning for a run. Cloudy with a nice breeze… ideal!

I ended up shopping in the afternoon.  I wanted a new dress to wear for my birthday dinner out this weekend. I found one at Nordstrom Rack for only $20!

On Saturday night, I met some friends to celebrate Ashley’s birthday. Every year we take a picnic dinner to Samuell Grand park for Shakespeare in the Park.

Ashley (right), Alyssa (middle), and I (left) have been friends since we were 7 years old. We are planning a 20th anniversary next year.

I got the outfit in this picture at Nordstrom, too, for only $15 total!

Alyssa, Scott, and I went by Whole Foods for our picnic foods.  I totally forgot to take a picture, but I sure did enjoy it!

I’ll be honest… I am not a Shakespeare fan.  I am lost the whole time!

And, I may have laid down and slept through the entire second half. But I do love picnics, and warm (but not hot) summer nights. I also like spending time with these friends and celebrating life.

Happy Birthday Ashley! (Today is actually her birthday!) I am so glad that we have been friends for so long!

On Sunday, my family went to my Dad’s favorite Chinese restaurant for lunch.

I had to include this picture, because I think my younger sister is beautiful and this picture is a great!

Leila wanted her Daddy to know how she felt, so she wore these adorable bloomers.

As usual, she kept us pretty entertained.

I do love being in a big family! Read about my Dad here.

I think Leila does too!

Last week’s workouts:

Sunday – Ride bike for 50 minutes

Monday – Body Pump

Tuesday – Spin Class

Wednesday – Run Intervals (warm up, 1 mi @ 5.2 mph, .25 recovery (x2), cool down)

Thursday – Walk 45 minutes (recovery)

Friday – Off

Saturday – Run 4 mi

 

I am off to a great start this week too! I love that exercise is now a part of my life.  There is not ifs, ands, or buts. It is a given. As it should be…


Leave a Reply

