Subconsciously Patriotic

2 Jul

Fact: I can not listen to music when I blog.  I would get nothing done.  My brain just does not work like that.

I know people who seem to thrive on music – listening to it, writing it, playing it.  Then there is me.  If music happens it happens, if it doesn’t it doesn’t.  I usually listen to music during my run on Tuesdays but not on Saturdays.  I always listen to music in the car.  I am just not a “life has to have a sound track” kind of person.

I am however, a wake up crazy early even on Saturday kind of person.  I am not sure when this happened, but I know it was out of necessity and not desire, but I adore working out in the morning.  For last couple of weeks I have started my workout before 6 am 5-6 days a week.  Some mornings I am up as early as 4:45. I love the feeling of accomplishment that I have all day.  I love that my metabolism is working.  I love that nothing gets in the way. Give it a try… a real try… as in more than once, and I think you may like it too.

This morning I was out on the road running by 6. I only ran 2 miles and walked 1 more, because I am running a 5k on Monday and intend to show those 3.1 miles what I am made of.  So, I contained myself, even though I felt a little lazy ONLY running two miles.  Did I just use the word “only” in the same sentence as “running”?

It was a nice morning, which can only be said before the sun actually rises.  It is worth it to me to get out of bed early to avoid the dangerous heat of the Texas summer.

Upon my arrival home, without any conscious patriotic intention I made blue oatmeal.

1/3 c rolled oats

1/2 c unsweetened soy milk

3/4 c water

1/3  c frozen blueberries

1 T chia seeds

I also mixed 1 T of coconut flour with 4 T of soy milk to make a “coconut cream”.  When I added that to the top of my bowl with some shredded coconut and sliced banana, it occurred to me that all I was in need of was something red. So, I pulled out a few frozen raspberries, which quickly melted when placed upon my steaming oats.

It had been so long since I had eaten warm oats.  Delicious…

Then, I headed out on a field trip, but not the kind you looked forward to as a child.

I am still without a car… 2.5 months and counting.  I am not sure how the time has passed so quickly or how I have survived, but I have.

So, my father, sister, and I ventured to a car auction this morning.  Upon arriving at 8:45, we took a look at all the cars and decided which were worthy of bidding on.

I tried to get my dad to bid on this…

or this…

Not sure why he laughed at me.

After we looked at the cars and got our bidding number, we sat and sat and sat for an hour, waiting for the auction to begin.

I do not thrive in this kind of setting. In fact, my stomach turned as we drove onto the parking lot. I was nervous, but my dad assured me that he would be taking care of everything.

When the auction began I felt my pulse speed up and my blood pressure rise… and I was not bidding on any of the first 18 cars. By the time the cars I was interested in rolled through I was much more calm.  But, as the morning crept by, my pregnant sister and I were getting hot.  We were in the shade with fans blowing on us, but 100 degrees is 100 degrees.

Thankfully, all the cars I wanted to see were in the first half of the auction.  We did not buy anything today… which means I am still carless…

BUT, I got to have lunch at Whole Foods… a salad of kale, spinach, beets, carrots, lima beans, corn, and cucumber with Daiya non-dairy cheese, lime juice, and Braggs Aminos. I also had an artichoke salad, a corn/bean salad, and a grain salad. And for good protein measure, I threw in some balsamic tofu…. which I am determined to make at home.

Now, I am attempting to motivate myself toward working on Chemistry homework. I’d rather take a nap.

Only a few more days of Chemistry…

My family is planning a barbeque tomorrow.  I have a block of tofu, which I think I may try to cook on the grill with barbeque sauce.  I asked my mom for corn bread.  Oh my does that sound good!  There will definitely be roasted corn happening here as well!

Does your family do anything special for July 4th?

This year I am running a 5k and I am hoping to PR!  I have to go register for and get my packet tomorrow!  I love packet pick up!

I hope you have a great long weekend!  I will let you know how that bbq tofu works out!

4 Responses to “Subconsciously Patriotic”

  1. Susan Thomas July 2, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    For years we would get together at kiddville in D-ville, have a huge picnic, people watch, then view the fireworks. Since weve been living out of state (and country), for the last 7 years, noone got together. But THIS year…THIS year, my friend I have resurrected the tradition. Should be fun! I love family traditions…especially the holiday ones 🙂 have a wonderful 4th of July! Be sure and thank a vet!

    • weightsandmeasures July 3, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      I have not been to Kiddsville in years… since college I think. I was in Europe last 4th and it was weird to feel like I should be celebrating and to be surrounded by no one who really even knew it was a special day for Americans. Hope you enjoy being home!

  2. Jennifer July 3, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    gorgeous breakfast!!!

    I will be spending my 4th at the beach and the ballpark 🙂

    Good luck on your 5k!!!!

    • weightsandmeasures July 3, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

      Beach and ballpark? Sounds wonderful! Well, other than the fact that we do not have a beach anywhere near Dallas and it is so ridiculously hot out for baseball. Thanks for the well wishes! I am hoping for a great race!

Leave a Reply

