It Doesn’t Have to Be Complicated

11 Jul

Good food does not have to be complicated…

One of my favorite restaurants to frequent is Fadi’s in Dallas off Knox/Henderson.  It is a Mediterranean restaurant serving shawarmas, hummus, tabouleh, baba ganoush, veggie and grain salads, etc.

I am pretty sure I have eaten my weight in hummus and pita there.  The problem is that it is a good 25 minute drive from my house.  While I can justify that drive for a fun night out with friends, it is not practical to drive it on a weeknight when the craving strikes.

My friend Alyssa and I decided to make our Mediterranean feast!

Alyssa, being a meat-eater, elected to make chicken shawarmas.  The meat was marinated over night in yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, and vinegar.  It looked good and smelled good.  I hear it tasted good too.

I was in charge of the tabouleh and the roasted vegetables that could be put in the shawarmas or eaten on the side.

Never had I ever made tabouleh, but I sure have now!

When I read the recipe I kind of felt like I would be chopping all day, but a mini food processor did all the onion chopping for me, and the herbs and tomatoes took no time at all.  Before I knew it, I had a wonderful grain and veggie salad, ready for dipping.

Tabouleh

Makes about 3 cups

3/4 c chopped fresh parsley (with stems discarded)

2 T chopped fresh mint

1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped

3 medium tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1/2 t salt

1/4 t black pepper

1/4 c dry bulgur

3 T lemon juice

1-2 T extra virgin olive oil

1. Soak the bulgur in 1 cup of water for at least 2 hours, drain and squeeze out excess liquid

2. Combine all of the ingredients except for the salt, pepper, lemon juice and olive oil which should be added right before serving for freshness

3. Place the mixture in the fridge to get cold.

Serve with pita and hummus or just a plain old fork!

Such a fresh dish… this is what summer is all about.

I also made roasted cauliflower, which was a huge hit!

Roasted Cauliflower

Preheat the oven to 350

Cut the cauliflower into large florets.

Rinse and allow it to strain well.

Toss with olive oil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.

Cook on a sheet pan in the oven at 350 for 35-40 minutes, turning once.

I was seriously bummed that there were not any leftovers from the cauliflower.  So simple, so tasty… I put cauliflower, roasted peppers (red, yellow, and green), and roasted squash and zucchini in my wrap.  Oh my…

The night ended with a little frozen yogurt… I had a mini salted caramel. It was delicious. I still am not eating dessert. I guess I am learning to make the occasional exception when I really want something.  Maybe this a good thing.  Maybe I am finding balance.

This meal was good enough to eat it the leftovers for lunch after church.  I am a big fan of leftovers.

 

May I urge you brothers and sisters, to roast some cauliflower.  You will thank me. I promise.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

