Lunchtime Ramblings

26 Jul

Just in case you were wondering, I am working 2 jobs these days.  Most days I only work one of them, but some days I work both.  I seriously have not been so tired in over a year!  But, I am blessed.  There are many who want to work that are struggling to find a job.

Body Pump, Oh Body Pump, how you hurt… in a good way of course. After two weeks away from Body Pump, I paid for it last Monday.  I felt like I was walking around like the Tin Man, in need of some oil.  Due to the above metioned exhaustion, I traded my second BP class last week for a bike workout on the trainer instead. It worked wonders, loosening my tight muscles and getting blood flowing through my tired legs.

This week, I didn’t feel like going to BP.  It was only Monday and I was already tired, but I knew that I would be mad at myself for missing it if I slept in.  So, I went anyway, and I was glad I did.  I think I accidentally raised the weight I used for back exercises and the back of my legs are feeling it from those dead lifts (which may be one of my favorite exercises). I am a little sore, but not in a bad way.  Definitely a bit stiff too.

I know I sing Body Pump’s praises all of the time, but I am telling you it makes such an impact.  My muscles are more and more toned every week, especially my arms and shoulders. I like wearing sleeveless shirts… oh vanity.  In my legs, I can not tell you what portion of the change is from running and what portion is from squats and lunges, but they are changing.

I am going out of town AGAIN this weekend!  This time to Lubbock to visit Staci!  I should be resting up in preparation, but who has time for that?!

I hear we are doing a 5k! No big deal… but I have to consider that only a few months ago a 3.5 mile run had me all worked up and nervous!

I love to see the inner progress, just as much I like the outward progress.  When I confidently approach something that I used to fear, I am face to face with how much has really changed… not because of what I have or have not done or eaten, but because of trusting in God in all areas.

Losing weight or running a marathon are not and should not be my goal, though I do love to see a smaller number on the scale (most) weeks and a larger number on my mile totals. The goal is living my life glorifying my Creator. I want to be in the best position possible to serve Him as He calls.

Even running can become an idol.  Last week I made more time to workout than I did to spend with the Lord.  I did not skip a single workout when time felt crunched.  I did skip prayer times. That was something I had to face and repent of.

Running is good.  There is nothing wrong, and plenty right, with daily exercise.  But, at what cost?

In no way did I just justify a life of inactivity in the name of spending more time with Jesus.  The reality is that you will be a more productive, disciplined, and effective follower of Christ if you are physically active.  I said it, and I mean it.

God made our bodies to move.  When we defy that natural plan, we find ourselves tired, stressed, eating poorly, and overweight.

So, Sunday, and yesterday, and today, and tomorrow I am choosing once again to put trust in the One who made me. I choose to ask for help to make wise decisions about food and to know when to be active and when to rest(I am so glad there is a time for both).  I choose time with God to be a priority.

My salad is gone… and it was a good one… romaine, red pepper, yellow pepper, green pepper, carrots, avocado, black beans, and salsa,,, and I am ready to get back to work.

So I will leave you now with this prayer that Mrs. Hoyer, my high school English teacher, would pray….

Lord,

Help us do what we don’t want to do so that we can become what you want for us to become.

Amen

One Response to “Lunchtime Ramblings”

  1. Jennifer July 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Oh I know the tune of “Working 2 jobs” all too well…I actually kind of prefer it to working one full time job. But just like running & exercise work can replace prayer times..something I am also too familiar with.

    I love this prayer…
    “Lord,
    Help us do what we don’t want to do so that we can become what you want for us to become.
    Amen”

    So true 🙂

    Btw, I tagged you in my blog for a “Blog Tag” if you’d like to participate!! 😀
    http://see-jen-cook.blogspot.com/2011/07/my-7-links.html

Leave a Reply

