I Run

16 Aug

One of these days I will upload a picture again… Until then, all I have is words.

There is no way in the world I could forget that I did Body Pump yesterday.  Not even if I tried.  My whole body feels it.  I am glad, because I know I got a really good workout, but I look a little robotic today.  How will I feel tomorrow when I have intervals to run?

Sometimes I am afraid to aspire. (Oh, you too?!  Glad I’m not alone.)

When I made the decision to run a marathon I was terrified to tell anyone, because I thought they would laugh at me.  I told Christina first.  Let me explain a little something about Christina… she does not know what impossible means.  It is an incredible quality.  When she encounters a problem, she will find a solution.  If there is not a solution to be found, she will make one. So I knew she would listen to me, even if what I was saying what ridiculous. But, her response was  “Sounds good.  I’m not doing it, but I know you can.  Jesse will help. ”

From there I told Jesse. I was really nervous telling him.  I thought that there was a good chance that he would tell me that it is a nice idea, but that I should not waste my time.  That was not his response at all.  He asked for data so he could work on my trianing plan.  He was immediately on board, after feeling out if I was serious about this.

Sunday, I was in Ft Worth Running Co with about a dozen other runners, and for once I did not feel out of place.  Usually at an expo for a race I would feel like I did not belong.  I felt like they were runners, but I am just a walker or a jogger.  But, not anymore.

I run.

I lace up my shoes. I strap on my heart rate monitor.  I map my route.  I sweat my butt off.  I keep going when every fiber of my being wants to stop and walk.

I run.

I choose to run.  Therefore, I am a runner. No one can tell me that I am not.

I have my sights set on 13.1 miles. (Yes, I intend to get a sticker.  No, there is no way I’ll put it on my car.) I am working on saving up the money to get signed up for White Rock and then for Cowtown.

Those may seem like distant goals.  December is months away.  February even farther. But, as with the most valuable things in life, they are not handed to you, but must be earned with blood, sweat, and tears.

Because I want to run 13.1 miles on December 4th…

I go to bed early every Friday night.

I wake up early every Saturday morning.

I drink water like it is my job.

I do not work out of Fridays.

I do core exercises and stretch often.

All week long I prepare myself for running a new distance on Saturday morning.

All week long I make sacrifices.

Every Saturday it pays off. The feeling of pressing that stop button on my watch is incredible.

 

Do you have a goal that seems elusive? What is your 26.2 miles? What can you do today, tomorrow, this week, this month that will bring you closer to accomplishing it?

You will never be who you want to be unless you do what you do not want to do.

So do today what you can, so that tomorrow is one step closer to where you really wan to be.

6 Responses to “I Run”

  1. Christina August 16, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    This blog made me cry. Thank you for your kind words…and I am so glad that I get to support you in your endeavor!!

  2. Abbie August 17, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Aww good for you girl! I’m signed up for the White Rock Half and working through a running injury from back in May. It’s a bummer but I’m still sticking to this mess! Good luck!

    • weightsandmeasures August 17, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      I plan to do White Rock… one day at a time with training I will get there. I had that thougtht this morning for the first time, “What if I can’t finish the race?” Geez! Little early for that. All I can control is my training, so I will continue putting in the miles and hours. I am confident it will pay off! Godd luck on your race. What kind of injury?

  3. Christina August 17, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    You will finish. You will be more than prepared!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And It Was Good « weightsandmeasures - August 17, 2011

    […] I Run […]

  2. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler « weightsandmeasures - August 30, 2011

    […] Running my first 10k (and training for my first half marathon) […]

Leave a Reply

