Just What I Needed

24 Aug

20110824-055335.jpg

This salad was not exactly what I WANTED after work today. What I wanted was cold, preferably venti with soy and ice, in a plastic cup with a mermaid on the side… Gee, did I want an iced coffee.

This salad was really good though. This was my last minute fix right before bed last night. About 2/3 c quinoa, lettuce, tomatoes, 1/2 c garbanzo beans, half an avocado, and some left over lemon tahini dressing. I was actually very surprised at how tasty this thoughtless meal was! And no one can say I did not get my protein… I got a double punch from the quinoa and garbanzos. Healthy fat from the avocado and tahini. Lycopene from the tomatoes. Fiber from the beans and quinoa, and the lettuce of course.

You know what else I needed today… a compliment.

We all need them. Mine came today from FitKnitChick in the form of a comment.

I know a lot of bloggers face critical or negative comments regularly. I do not get a lot of comments period (so please feel free to comment away 🙂 I love to converse.) Consequently I do have to face negative interaction often.

I generally have beautiful people who encourage me, like FitKnitChick who simply said, “I love your attitude.”

Now why would that mean so much to me?

Well, I used to be (and can be at moments) an extremely negative person. I was rude. I was unkind. I was thoughtless. While so of this has changed because of age, and even more because of Jesus. Some is also the result of choice. I’ve chosen to change.

I choose to filter my words. I choose to filter my comments when I write on other blogs or write emails. I choose to keep my opinion to myself at times.

Now I am not tooting my own horn here. I’m simply giddy that not one, but two readers have appreciated my attitude. I’m having one of those, “Wow, I’ve actually made progress moments.”

We all have things we wish would be complimented. For example, I have dark brown eyes and I wear glasses. I have forever. So my eyes are pretty unnoticed. But, every once in a while someone will notice my eyelashes, and I know in that moment that they looked beyond the obvious. They saw past the immediate. They were paying attention. That feels incredible.

So, here is my challenge for both you and I… Let’s look past the obvious, take a moment to see others, and give them why they need….

A word of kind, genuine, encouragement.

2 Responses to “Just What I Needed”

  1. emily (a nutritionist eats) August 25, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I try to give real, genuine compliments a lot, because they are SO nice to receive and they really do have the power to brighten someones day! Why not?

    • weightsandmeasures August 25, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Absolutely! How often do we think nice things about other people, yet we don’t say it to them. At times I think we assume they know. Or, maybe we don’t say something out of our own insecurity. I am trying to make it a practice to tell people the things I think that are going to encourage them. Sometimes they genuinely need it!

      By the way, congratulations on the big move and your upcoming wedding! LA will definitely be a huge change from Minnesota! I have visited Minn twice and love it. It is beautiful and the people are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

