Targeting the Discipline Muscle

24 Aug

“After you are finished with the warm up get ready to work hard”.  That is what Jesse said about my run this morning in an email I got from him last night.

Oh golly, gee, I just could not wait!

It was hard to roll out of bed this morning.  I mean really hard, even though I went to sleep at 10.  5am is early, no matter how you look at it, but seems even earlier when your intention is to go sweat your tail off instead of make a cup of coffee and get ready for the day.

Today’s goal was a Max Heart Rate test.  Jesse needs this information to aid in the creation of my training plan and the interpretation of the data after a workout.

When I workout I wear a Garmin FR60 watch with a heart rate monitor.  When I run, I have a foot pod on my shoe.  My bicycle has a cadence sensor or it as well that works with my watch. All of these little tools give me information about what my body is doing while I work out. It can be very interesting stuff!

I like this watch because it is not too bulky.  Some of the other Garmins are huge.  This one does everything that I need it to do.  I got it for a great price at www.holabirdsports.com .

The test went something like this…

Ramp warm up – jog at a comfy pace until 5 min, speed up .2 every 30 sec after that till 6mph, maintain at 6mph until 8:00, then walk

Begin test … (straight from Iron Jess himself)

Every 30 seconds take the speed up by .2 until you have to begin a light jog.  After that you will increase your speed by .1 every minute until you get to level 6.
Stay at level 6 for 3 minutes.  Once you have gone 3 minutes at level 6 you will begin increasing your incline by 1 every 30 seconds until you reach level 5.  If you are still going when you reach level 5 increase your speed again by .1 every 30 seconds until you have to hop onto the side of the treadmill.  Do not hold on to the treadmill unless you are stopping.  After you finish this test immediately take the treadmill back down to 0 on the incline and walk at a comfortable level.
Once you are finished with the test and recovered you can get back to an easy jog and finish out the time you have jogging at whatever speed you feel like running.
…end test.
By the time I was running at an incline of 5 at 6mph my heart rate was at 187 and I feared flying off the back of the treader.  So, I hopped off.  Could I have gone faster?  Maybe. Oh, the age old question.
I ran more, did some core work, and had a nice stretch before heading home.
Say hello to “Where the mud are the rest of my oats?” oatmeal.
There is a big difference between 1/3 c oats and 1/4 c oats.  I also did not have a banana to mash.  That may have been how I justified that dollup of sunflower butter. It was a really good bowl of oats.
1/4 c rolled oats
1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
1/4 c water
1/2 scoop Raw protein powder
1/2 T buckwheat groats
1/2 c frozen cherries
I topped it with almost a T of sunflower butter and some coconut cream (coconut flour + almond milk), with decaf and a side of running around the house like a crazy person trying to get out of the door by 7:30.
I managed to snap a picture of lunch before it was packed away in my lunch box last night.
Mini pitas, jalapeno hummus, fresh cut veggies, and some strawberries with 3 spoons of soy yogurt, a little coconut, buckwheat groats, and walnuts.
Then as I turned off the light to the kitchen and headed toward bed I remembered…. tomorrow is Wednesday and that means I need to take my dinner too.
As much of a hassle as it seems sometimes to plan and create meals ahead of time, the benefit far outweighs the cost.
1. I am guaranteed a healthy and well balanced meal.
2. I save money.  Convenient food = expense
3. I am being proactive in regard to my health and hunger.
4. I am exercising discipline and self-control, and trust me, those are muscles that need as much exercise as possible for me.
If you are not a vegetarian, but are considering becoming one… or maybe you wonder why in the world anyone would want to stop eating meat, check out Mama Pea’s post about the Benefits of Being a Vegetarian.
Warning: Do not read Peas and Thank You, unless you have an actual sense of humor.  Also, please note that Sarah is one of the funniest blogs I have ever read and reading her blog may be habit forming.  Furthermore, I will likely seem really dull after reading her blog.
You have been warned.

Sarah also has a new book out, entitled Peas and Thank You with meatless recipes and adorable stories of her very creative daughters, Gigi and Lulu. I do not own it yet, but want it. I hear that you can get it on Amazon for about $13, but I am being SUPER careful with money right now (See, I have to practice discipline in a lot of areas. ).

5 Responses to “Targeting the Discipline Muscle”

  1. Christina August 24, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    I am glad you conquered that workout!! Jesse said you were really excited about it! =)

  2. fitknitchick August 24, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Hi, I found your blog via Clare at Fitting It All In.
    I totally hear you about the portion size of your morning oats; I had been eating 1/2 cup raw (with the same add ons as you), but recently cut it back to 1/4 ’cause I don’t seem to be losing any weight and portion control is my number one issue.
    Wow, does that bowl look small in comparison.

    Love your attitude and am going to run over to Peas and Thank You to check it out too!
    I blog at fitknitchick.wordpress.com

    • weightsandmeasures August 24, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Portion control is definitely a challenge for me. I like to feel like I actually ate something. So I am trying to avoid calorie dense foods a bit more. I’ve veered away from taking a picture of all my meals, but just started again. I think it helps me to be able to see what I ate (good and bad). I’ve been stumped on the weight loss lately too. I’m not where I thought I’d be at this time but I’m not where I was either. As long as I see and feel progress, I’m content. This is about health and I know I’m getting healthier every day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just What I Needed « weightsandmeasures - August 25, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeBlogs I ReadLittle About MeRaces ← Targeting the Discipline Muscle […]

Leave a Reply

