Kalachandji’s for Dinner

27 Aug

It is the weekend!

Which means, dinner with Clare, a long run, grocery shopping, and a Ranger’s game!

Yesterday’s meals were light because I knew I was going out for dinner with Clare to Kalachandji’s.

Breakfast was consumed at Starbucks, during a 6:30am meeting.  I love early morning productivity!

Overnight oats with half a banana and a couple small sliced strawberries with coconut cream on top. I also had a decaf coffee with soy milk.

Calling all soy drinkers… have you registered a gift card at Starbucks to take advantage of their reward program.  As soon as you register the card you are eligible to get a free drink on your birthday.  After you use a registered gift card 5 times you are a green level member.  Then you get your birthday drink, free soy or syrups, free beverage with 1lb whole bean coffee, and free regular coffee or tea refills in the same visit.  Then there is a gold level where you can earn a free drink every 15 drinks, personalized offers and coupons, and still get all of the other benefits too!

I rarely go to Starbucks, because I do not like to spend a lot of money on coffee.  But, sometimes I meet people there and my registered gift card helps me save  $.60 every time I order soy…because I think that the soy upcharge is ABSURD!  Why Starbucks are you picking on we the lactose intolerant people?

I have been full time in an office for 3 weeks now and all of the sitting is killing me!

So I actually made a perch so that I could stand behind my desk.  I got this idea from Anne who is getting Masters in Nutrition. I love reading her blog, because she reminds me what I am working towards!  As a student and blogger, Anne , has to work on her computer a lot and she puts her computer on her perch to avoid excessive sitting. I stood up most of the morning and loved it!

Lunch was a salad of lettuce, cucumber, red pepper, quinoa, and garbanzo beans withWhole Foods jalapeno hummus.  I also ate an apple.

Last night, Clare and I went to Kalachandji’s. Clare and I met a couple weeks ago when we went to Spiral Dinner together.  She is new to Dallas, so I have been excited to share a couple of my favorite restaurants with her.

Kalachandji’s has been serving vegetarian food to Dallasites for over 28 years, making it Dallas’ oldest veg restaurant.

 

 

Kalachandji’s is actually a buffet. Usually, you say the word buffet and I run, but this restaurant is all about freshly prepared food.  They post their menu each day on their website, as it changes daily.

 

8/26/11 Friday

 

Yellow Mung Dal Soup
Basmati Rice
Brown Rice
Steamed Veg w/ Lemon Tahini
Mustard Green
Okra & Potato
# Eggplant, Peas & Panir
Jalapeno Pickle
Salad Bar
* Wholewheat & Cinnamon-Raisin Bread

 

Dinner Also Includes:
#* Spinach Filo
Curried Zucchini
Dal Pakoras w/ Tamarind Chutney

 

Dessert:
* Vegan Ginger Cookie
# Vanilla Sweet Rice
#* Carob-walnuta  Halvah

 

# Contains Dairy
* Contains Wheat

 

I always get a little bit over everything because the menu is different every time I go.  Their fresh cinnamon raisin bread is my personal crack.  I ALWAYS eat a piece.  My favorites were the spinach filo and the okra and potato.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had to sit on the beautiful patio, since all of the indoor tables were full or reserved.  They do have fans, so it was actually ok, even though it was over 100 degrees outside. It was actually a beautiful setting to sit and talk with Clare about blogs for as long as we could.
For dessert we got one of each, vanilla sweet rice and carob walnut halvah.  They were both so good!  The halvah was like a lightly sweetened chocolate cake, which paired nicely with the genuinely sweet vanilla rice.

Hanging out with Clare reminds me why it is so important to spend time with people that inspire you, share your passions, and encourage you.  By the time we were leaving I was fire up and ready to take my blog to the next level.

Thanks Clare for a great dinner and encouraging conversation!

 

Do you like Indian food? I love Indian food, but I ate it for the first time only a year ago.  Now I can’t get enough!

Do you make it at home or only eat it out? Kalachandji’s has cooking classes and I am planning to go to a few!

 

6 Responses to “Kalachandji’s for Dinner”

  1. Anne P August 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Yay perch! Good for you 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures August 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      On Monday I will have to prop up my monitor too. I only did the keyboard on Friday. Thanks for the great idea!

  2. Jennifer August 27, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    I love Indian food and highly recommend Madhur Jaffrey’s cookbooks if you want to cook some at home. I think you are vegetarian? If so, you may be happiest with World Vegetarian, which is a TOME and contains, as the title suggests, recipes from all over the world, not just India. It is an amazing cookbook!

    • weightsandmeasures August 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Thank you so much for the suggestions! I will definitely look into them! I do not eat meat rarely eat animal products. I do not cook with them at home, but do not make a huge deal when in public. Are you?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Little Backwards, A Lot Hot « weightsandmeasures - August 28, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeBlogs I ReadLittle About MeRaces ← Kalachandji’s for Dinner […]

  2. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler « weightsandmeasures - August 30, 2011

    […] things clearly. I also had a great conversation with Clare, of Fitting It All In, last week over Kalachandji’s about blogging.  They both have invested so much into me in the last week. It means so much! Now […]

Leave a Reply

