A Little Backwards, A Lot Hot

28 Aug

Friday night was very relaxing, as all I did was have dinner with Clare at Kalachandji’s and then go back to my sister’s house to hang out.  I stay at her house most Friday nights because I like running in her neighborhood.  I have measured routes and it is well lit for those before-the-sun-would-dare-raise-it’s-head runs. But the guest room was occupied, so I slept on the couch.  Luckily it is a really comfortable couch.

Iron Jess and his brother left the house at 3am to head to Hotter Than Hell, a 100 mile bike ride, with 2 of their other brothers and  their dad.  They were super quiet in the kitchen, but I still woke up.  I could not fall back asleep until 4:30, so my 5:30 alarm was greeted with my pointer finger turning it off and a grunt.

I ended up waking up at 6:30 and headed out on a 6 mile run.

I felt incredible the first couple miles, and then it started to get hotter as the sun rose.  I walked 3 times, for about a minute each time. In the end I still covered over 6 miles.

It still amazes me that I can run that far! I may not be fast, but I will get it done!

Lunch looked a little something like this…

Well, I started lunch with frozen yogurt with Christina.  We have our priorities. Then we met Michele and Leila for fajitas.

The three of us shared these fajitas from On the Border.  I was actually really impressed that they have vegetable fajitas on their menu. We ordered chicken, so the meat eaters could eat meat.  They had 3 vegetable options that came with the meat, and I chose the one that included squash and zucchini, red pepper, and onion.  I asked the waiter to put the meat beside the vegetables, and he obliged. Thanks waiter!

Happy vegetarian!  Guacamole, black beans, vegetables, and salsa on a very fresh tortilla.  I had one fajita with some chips and salsa.  I ate the chips slowly and intentionally.

By the end of lunch the lack of sleep + sugar caught up to me and I was ready to crash hard, so I skipped the trip to Target and went home for a 45 minute nap.

After my nap I made myself appear presentable enough to sit outside for hours and sweat… in other words, I put on clothes… and packed my cooler for a Ranger’s game.

We are having a drought in Texas, but you wouldn’t know it from their grass (or the grass in my front yard).  This was my first game of the season. Sad but true.  I used to frequent the ballpark all throughout the summer.  Life is busy these days!

There was good company.

Lots of sun.

Zero wind, as you can tell by the flags.

And lots of real food in my cooler. The last of the Whole Foods jalapeno hummus, chickpeas (redundant), red pepper, carrots, and tomotos (that may as well be candy).

To combat the heat, I brought a bowl of watermelon. This is what summer is about – baseball and watermelon.

The Ranger’s lost.

School starts Monday morning after my final Body Pump in who knows how long.

Do you like going to outdoor sporting events?  

Do you pack your own food or try to find something to eat at the stadium?  I will be honest, I can not handle paying that much for mediocre food. even when I was a meat eater I took my own food.

5 Responses to “A Little Backwards, A Lot Hot”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race August 28, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Bringing food is the only way to go. That food there is so expensive and none of it is good for you.

    Amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it isn’t it? 6 miles today, marathon tomorrow.

    • weightsandmeasures August 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Knowing that 26 will not happen with out these shorter runs, as I build my base, is motivation to conquer them. And when it is time for 26, knowing that I have done all the hard work along the way to prepare will give me the confidence I need to cross both the start and finish line.

      I am ALL about packing and taking food with me. I’ve already got breakfast, lunch, and a snack to eat before afternoon class all packed and in the fridge for tomorrow. It’s all about doing the less convenient things at convenient times.

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    I totally agree with Jason!

    Great 6 miles 🙂

  3. weightsandmeasures August 29, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Thanks! I love reading your weekly rundown of workouts. It inspires me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Familiar « weightsandmeasures - September 4, 2011

    […] an hour after I went to sleep and that I would not be able to fall back asleep for 2 hours.  That sounds a little familiar. I run better if I sleep well, and I did not sleep […]

Leave a Reply

