Whelmed

29 Aug

I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?

 I think you can in Europe.

(10 Things I Hate About You)

We all have words we tend to over use.  Winning, epic, snap (high school anyone?)…

I tend to use the word overwhelmed too much. Not as often as one may use the examples I gave, but it is a word that I would use to describe my mental and emotional state at times.

Today was an opportunity to be overwhelmed, but I chose not to do so.  By that I mean that I chose more than once today to be ok.

There is a song by Bethel Live that says,

God I look to You
I won’t be overwhelmed
Give me vision to see things like You do
God I look to You
You’re where my help comes from
Give me wisdom, You know just what to do

I sang this song over and over today.  It brought me so much peace and helped me from being overwhelmed. I was able to maintain perspective.

As I transition into a new season, I am committed to remain not under (boring), or overwhelmed, by my circumstances.  I chose to be whelmed… in Texas, because there is no time for Europe right now.

While I am a huge proponent of saying NO to people to avoid overcommitment, I am very committed right now.  I am learning better time management, as well as the art of being completely present where I am at the moment to make the time count. I am going to learn a lot more than Anatomy and Physiology this semester.

I definitely had the opportunity to be overwhelmed this weekend when I went to Costco, not once but twice.  I was ready to check out when their was a mixup with my sister’s membership, so I returned the next day to fill my cart with the exact same items.

Almond Milk

Broccoli

Stir fry veggies

MaraNatha Almond Butter ($5.99)

Sprouted Honey Wheat Bread ($5.99) I frozen 1.5 loaves

Seaweed snacks

Nature’s Path Sunrise Cereal

A very successful trip indeed! Though I wish I had only made the trip once.

What do you eat after 14 hours of going all day?

A baked sweet potato with coconut cream (coconut flour + almond milk), quinoa, and walnuts.


With broccoli on the side.

Please tell me that you bake your sweet potatoes in the oven.  Nothing is more underwhelming than a microwaved sweet potato.

Preheat the oven to 400. Wash the skin of the sweet potato. Rub the skin with oil. Put it in the oven for about 45-an hour. Remove it when you press on the skin and it is tender.

Now that is overwhelming, in the best possible way.

What is your strategy when you start to feel overwhelmed?
What is your favorite way to prepare a sweet potato?  I love them baked, but also roasted.
3 Responses to “Whelmed”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race August 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I microwave my sweet potato for 4 minutes then put it in the oven to bake the remainder of the way.

    My favorite way is to make sweet potato fries. Speaking of which tonight was going to be polenta fries and avocado fries but my step son got sick and so dinner here wound up being left over pizza instead…..underwhelmed.

    I do not get involved in the peaks and valleys but instead try to smooth out my route. I know that a high is followed by a low so no sense in getting caught up in either way. Flatten it all out and enjoy lifes travels.

  2. weightsandmeasures August 30, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    How much does that cut down on the cook time? Does it impact the taste?

    Avocado fries… mmm. Avocado is like magic. It makes everything a little more special. I hope your stepson is feeling better.

    • Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race August 31, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      There is no impact on the taste and it cuts down on the cook time by about 15 minute – 20 minutes.

      I am thinking of making polenta fries and avocado fries and sweet potato fries for dinner and the best part is it will have limited oil and yet all the protein, carbs and fat one could want.

Leave a Reply

