5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler

30 Aug

On Twitter today I saw a recipe that said ” @tesschallis Quick, fat-free, delicious, whole-grain, #vegan blueberry cobbler? Yes, please!”

I immediately thought, quick? Fat free? Whole grain? Could it be?

I checked out the recipe and found it to be true AND I already had all of the ingredients in my fridge. Bonus!

I give you my own little vegan, blueberry cobbler! (Well, it’s Tess’ recipe, but that cobbler below is all mine.)

I actually split the recipe to make only 1/4th because I did not have a pan to make 1/2.  This little pie dish from Crate and Barrel is one of my favorites for tiny desserts.

I did add 1 T of rolled oats for texture (which it did not do) and 1 T flax seeds for a little extra of everything flax seed is good for. Next time I would accomplish texture with buckwheat groats.

I ate it warm, with coconut cream (daily occurrence lately) atop.

I enjoyed every bite!

This recipe was exactly as it said… quick, easy, whole grains, fresh fruit, light, summery… and all without dairy or fat.

Tess Challis this was a great recipe that I WILL make again… strawberry cobbler anyone?!

She has a couple cookbooks out, and I will be adding them to my list of books that I need to get my hands on!

I saw this little quiz over at Beth’s Journey, who found it on Tina’s blog.  I thought I would share a little bit about myself… can you handle it?

5 Words to Describe Myself

  • Random
  • Devoted
  • Determined
  • Observant
  • Eager (which looks really funny when you capitalize it)
My little sister suggested, loud.  Why yes I am, but I was trying to stay a bit more positive. Thanks Veggie Burger!

4 Favorite Foods (no surprises)

  • Bananas
  • Nut butter
  • Smoothies
  • Bread
  • Chocolate

3 Things I am Most Proud of Accomplishing

2 Favorite Workouts

  • BODY PUMP
  • Running Intervals – It is painful and hard, but always so rewarding!

1 Thing to Expect from My Blog

  • More… I have a blog to do list the length of my arm.  It is a short arm, but it is still a lengthy list.

Jason, from Cook, Train, Eat, Race, and I have been exchanging emails about some of the things I can do to improve my blog. I really appreciate his input.  Sometimes it takes an outside perspective to help you see things clearly. I also had a great conversation with Clare, of Fitting It All In, last week over Kalachandji’s about blogging.  They both have invested so much into me in the last week. It means so much!

Now you tell me…
Answer one of the 5 questions, so I can know you a little better!  
If you do this little quiz on your blog, please let me know, so I can check it out!
Also, if you don’t follow me on Twitter, I dare say you should!  You can find me at @danikracht!
12 Responses to “5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun August 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Thanks for participating!!! 🙂

    And you look so great. Amazing progress. You should be so proud. 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures August 30, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      Thanks so much! It has changed my entire life. I do not take the credit for it. I am proud of the change, but there are so many people that have contributed as inspiration and encouragement.

  2. Trish August 31, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    D, this is great!!! I love it!! Another cool email for low-calorie yummies you could sign up for is Hungry Girl!

  3. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race August 31, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Yes that looks awesome. Will have to put that into the rotation very soon.

    Blog looks great and thank you for the shout out.

    Will send over some additional thoughts in a moment.

    • weightsandmeasures August 31, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Thanks again Jason! The cobbler was seriously impressive, considering the minimal ingredient list and 0 fat involved.

  4. eftychia August 31, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    You look great! I am on a diet and I feel a bit stressed at the moment…

    • weightsandmeasures August 31, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      Thanks so much! I am definitely still on a journey! Why stressed?

  5. Lele August 31, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Mmmm I am bookmarking that cobbler recipe!

  6. Rebecca September 1, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Danielle – I am so proud of you for all you are accomplishing. ALSO, I am proud of you for how much better you’ve become at taking pictures (they look great!) and for posting more before/after pictures of yourself. 🙂 Love you!

    PS – The new blog looks great. Shoutout to Scott

    • weightsandmeasures September 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

      He has done nothing! This was all me, which is why I went to bed at 12 Monday night. It was worth it!

Leave a Reply

