Ketchup for Dinner

2 Sep

This morning I did not have much time to invest in breakfast. Truthfully, the joy banana was missing from breakfast, which left me clueless what to have.  I landed on two pieces of toast – one with 1 teaspoon of almond butter and honey , one with 1 teaspoon almond butter and Crofter’s Strawberry Real Fruit Spread.  I just did not feel that full after eating, but I was headed to Starbucks to see a friend who works there.  So, I was hoping that the soy milk I would have in my coffee would give a me a little more protein and keep me feeling full.

I ended up having a very busy morning, and did not stop for lunch until 12:30.  I am trying to learn to listen to what my body wants to eat and when it wants to eat.  So, I ate veggie stirfry with brown rice, and my perfect tofu.  I only ate about 2/3, felt satisfied, and stopped.

That was a victory for me!  Around these parts we celebrate victories, big and small.

I ended up eating the rest about 2 hours later when I was hungry again.  I worked late, so I ate a couple nuts to keep the hangry version of myself at bay.

In an effort to maintain my food budget I have decided that I want to eat out once a weekend, and I will be tomorrow or Sunday, so I declined my inner desire to visit Loving Hut tonight.  Instead I asked myself what I was really wanting to eat.

The answer: ketchup,

What? A condiment?  That is not dinner.

I have not had ketchup since May… I remember the day. That poison high fructose corn syrup seems to be in everything these days, so I have pretty much avoided ketchup.  But, tonight I went and bought some Muir Glen ketchup and fresh green beans, as well as bananas (yay for breakfast tomorrow!)

I also got the last couple notebooks I needed for school, on clearance.  Thanks Target!

When I walked through the door I was met by these ladies…

Cali (my mom’s cat)

Betsey (my sister’s cat)

I was also met with the last textbook I needed.  Seriously, buying textbooks is like being robbed.

What the cats did not know, and I am not going to be the one to tell them, is that my lab manual is the “cat version”, meaning I may have to dissect a cat at some point.  I am NOT an animal person, but I am also not a cat dissecter.  Well, at least not yet.

Back to the ketchup… (I guess was not the best time to switch from talking dissection to talking about ketchup)

I thinly sliced a small sweet potato, and roasted the green beans and sweet potato at 350 for about 25 minutes after misting them with olive oil and sea salt.

I am genuinely convinced that if there were an award for slicing vegetables thinly by hand with a pretty dull knife, I think I would win.

While I waited (what seemed like forever), I made a mess in the kitchen an oatmeal cookie.  I knew I wanted dessert and I wanted to make something that I could eat and still feel good about.

I mixed 1/4 c oats, 1/3 scoop vanilla protein poswder, 1/2 T PB2, 1/2 T almond milk, 1 flax egg (1 T ground flax+2.5 T water that you let sit for 5 minutes), 1 t pure maple syrup, dash of cinnamon, 1/4 t pure vanilla extract, 1 t unsweetened Baker’s chocolate chopped. I baked it at 350 for about 12 minutes.

Finally the veggies were done.  Ok, maybe I actually ate the thinner ones as they started getting dark.

I squirted a hearty squirt of ketchup, with vegetables and a Gardenburger on the side.  After all, I was having ketchup for dinner.

Finally, after a week of standing behind my perch, I am committed to an evening of sitting in preparation for a long run in the morning.

Do you try to eat what you are really wanting?

Do you have a food budget? 

 

2 Responses to “Ketchup for Dinner”

  1. jason @ Cook Train Eat Race September 3, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    I don’t deny myself food but I do choose alternative choices. Hungry for chocolate? Then I get a square of dark chocolate, eat and relish it. I am not overly strict but I choose wisely.

    I don’t have a food budget b/c food is my fuel so I don’t skimp there and will forgo other wants if I have to.

  2. weightsandmeasures September 3, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    I am definitely getting better about trying to figure out what I am really wanting. I won’t just eat something, because I will just want something else. So, I try to cut to the chase. If I try to appease myself with something totally different, I usually want something else. Of course there are healthier options within catergories, so I try to make the wisest decisions.

    I completely agree that food is fuel and is an investment in our well being. I am willing to eat less of quality food, than save money and have more good to eat. But, since I am still learning corret portion size and accurate dietary needs, I am never in danger of underfeeding myself to sae money. I want to learn to get the most nutritious food I can, while spending my food money wisely. If I did not have a food budget, I would be in trouble… Whole Foods here I come!.

Leave a Reply

