The Effect of Reading Blogs

6 Sep

I have to wonder if there could be a direct correlation between the blogs I read and the food that I choose to make and eat, as well as, the amount I choose to eat.

I began reading food blogs almost a year ago, while still living in Nebraska.  At first I read one or two, then 5, and now I read the ones that I can, when I have time.

I choose to read some blogs because I have an actual relationship with the writer, such as Clare, who recently moved to Dallas.

I read other blogs for their impressive style and design, such as Roost.  This blog emits peace from every photo and every line of text.  It is lovely.

Some for their simple, yet profound approach to life, such as Heather. (It has been beautiful to see her adjustment into motherhood.)

Jason inspires me to train hard and work hard, while keeping my food standards high.

Anne is becoming a dietician, and sets an incredible example of eating healthy and living active.  I consider her a role model, even though she has never met me. She also inspired me to create my own perch at work.

Other blogs make a me laugh…. Monica and Sarah.

Kath exemplifies portion control and a sense of moderation. (2 of my greatest struggles!!!)

And, of course, one blog has become my own personal breakfast guru.  (What would I do if Ashley had not invented the Buckwheat Bake?  Truth be told, I had never heard of buckwheat at all!)

Still others remind me of where I want to go. 3,2,1 Delish is written by two friends who compete in triathalons, which I am working toward.

Beth has lost major weight and understands the ups and downs of weight loss, maintenance, and learning to be a runner.  I like her honesty.

There are others too that add humor, beauty, creativity, and inspiration to my life.

But, I still have to wonder…

  • What is the effect of reading recipes for delicious food (some I would make, others I would not) day after day?
  • What is the effect of seeing beautifully photographed meals that look as though they were made in the very kitchen of heaven?
  • How does their content impact my hunger cues and cravings?
  • How do their pictures effect my food choices and portion sizes?

In no way am I implying that reading or writing a food blog is unhealthy… lest I condemn my own self.

I am saying that I am considering the effect of this practice on my life and on yours too.

Monica joked today in her post that “reading blogs makes you hungry”, but I dare say it is true.  It is the exact same principle that food advertisers use. When you see pictures of their product, and all of a sudden you feel hunger.

The influence that they healthy living blog community has had on my life has been a very positive one.  In no way am I blaming MY actions or choices on any one else.

It is important to me to live my life in a manner that I can account for my actions and be confident that I did my best to do the right thing.

I hope that each and every day I am able to help you have the tools, resources, knowledge, motivation, and inspiration to live your life in a manner that instills health and wellness into your life and body and relationships.

I take my role seriously, in that I am not naive to think that what I eat, do, and say does not impact others around me. I realize that, just as others have influenced me, I have influence as well.

With that in mind, the wheels of my mind are turning… reading blogs is not bad.  Cooking new recipes, not bad.  BUT…

Maybe there is a limit to how many I should read or when I should read them.

There is a time for most things, but what you do not master will soon master you.

(Oh geez, did I just talk everyone out of reading my blog?It’s been fun while it lasted.)

Just wondering…

Do you read many blog?  How many a day?

What influence do you think that have on your choices?

9 Responses to “The Effect of Reading Blogs”

  1. Clare @ Fitting It All In September 6, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I think about the influence of blogs on my life all the time. Yes they are a time suck, maybe make me hungry, cause me to buy products I dont *need* but now love. But they also taught me to try new healthy foods, to eat well rounded meals, to push myself with exercise. They are a time suck, but it’s something I love and connects me to so many beautiful people.
    As with all things, there is a balance, but I think overall blogs have been a positive influence on me!

    • weightsandmeasures September 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      There are definitely blogs that have brought wonderful recipes, ideas, knowledge, and products into my life. They challenge me. That is always a good thing!

  2. fitknitchick September 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I’ve only been reading blogs (and blogging myself!) since last fall, but I find that each day, the number of blogs I check in with goes up…I don’t consider it a ‘time suck’ but an investment. An investment into my own writing and growth as a human being.

    In our modern society, it’s easy to feel isolated from others. Reading blogs reminds me that we’re not so different from one another and that there are always others out there living a lifestyle similar to yours.

    Have a great day!

    • weightsandmeasures September 6, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      Blogging can definitely help us find others who are in a similar place. For example, as a plant eater, it is nice to read the blogs of others who do not eat meat. You have that in common, and their recipes actually fit your lifestyle.

      I am working on my time management skills, so I can get sucked in to blogs sometimes. I have to watch myself.

  3. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race September 6, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I spend my morning reading blogs if I can get to all of them great, but if I cannot I do not worry. We all have lives outside of the blog and even if we were professional bloggers we would still only have so much time.

    I find that as I read during my breakfast I don’t get hungrier since I am already eating. I have my favorites and star those in my reader so if I don’t get to it in my designated time slot of 730a to 845a then I get to those later otherwise I move on.

    Do they influence me? To an extent. Those with food influence me to add it to my rotation, but I am more influenced by those that have or are about to complete an Ironman and their discussion of training/racing. I want to consume that knowledge so that come race day I am ready and prepared.

    • weightsandmeasures September 6, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      I am just getting to the point where I am designating a time as blog reading time, blog writing time, etc. I am thinking that I will read them in the morning only. I have been reading twice a day.

      I would also like to begin reading more running blogs, which will influence me in the best way!

  4. Ashley September 7, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    Such a great post. Thanks for including me in your list. I’m honored to be a part of it!

    • weightsandmeasures September 7, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      Thanks! I have learned a lot from you. I haven’t tried popping amaranth yet, but that day is definitely on the horizon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Small Change: The Lunchtime Walk « weightsandmeasures - September 16, 2011

    […] am a desk worker.  I sit for hours at a time (when I am not perching at my […]

Leave a Reply

