Labor Day Living

7 Sep

After 68 days of 100 degree temperatures in Dallas this summer, the heat seems to have finally broken.  I can’t say I am happy about it either.  Only one more day, and we would have tied the 1980 record of 69 days.  Two more days and the record would be OURS!

Saturday was noticeably cooler, but somewhat windy.

Sunday was much nicer and terribly windy.  I road my bike anyway and experienced the grace of a merciful tailwind and the unforgiveness of a hearty headwind.  Even still, I road 16.5 miles, which is the farthest I have ever ridden.

Monday held an unscheduled run, that I dubbed a fun run.  I looked forward to it, knowing there was’t any pressure to accomplish a certain distance or time. I ended up battling the wind for 4.75 miles before calling it a day. It was relaxing.

The rest of the day was spent with family.  I drank coffee on a patio with Christina and Jesse.  I talked with Michele.

Then we all met up for lunch at a restaurant on Joe Pool Lake.

The Oasis is a very American restaurant that burnt down only a couple of years ago, but was rebuilt.

Our goal was to eat outside… the location was not as important.

The only vegetarian options were salads that had cheese on them and dressing… no thanks. I am too good at making salads to pay for a crappy restaurant salad.

I opted for side dishes, and purposely did not ask what they were cooked in, because I really did not want to know.  I got wild rice (pretty sure it was cooked in chicken broth), sauteed squash (butter?), and sweet potatoes (brown sugar).

I left hungry and felt like I wasted money… but I was with my family and that made it worth it.

Our other goal was to take Leila to feed the ducks and fish at the lake.

Her Daddy showed her the boats.

The water at the lake is insanely low.

The water was in no way deep.  Lake water is nasty looking.

Leila was a little more interested in eating the bread than feeding the animals.

This duck even had a mohawk.

Such a sweet girl…

 

How did you spend your labor day?

Did you spend time with friends or family?  

Did you make a special meal?  If so, what did you make?

 

2 Responses to “Labor Day Living”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race September 8, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Spent Labor Day racing.

    I am of the opposite mindset regarding the record for temps above 100*. I could have cared less because it is not like I did anything to get that record other than suffer and I’d rather have no record and be comfortable than to have the record and suffered.

    Hello Fall!!!! Glad to have you back.

    • weightsandmeasures September 8, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      I’m almost nervous to truly embrace fall yet. Will the heat return?

      I am ready to start increasing my long run mileage again, but it is hard when it’s hot.

Leave a Reply

