The Small Foxes

8 Sep

I have two crazy exciting posts in the works right now… Ok, make that 3.

In the mean time, this is one of those days that starts at 5am and ends at 8pm. I usually have 2-3 of those days a week right now. It’s a season of life.

This season is an adventure. I’m being stretched, pushed, pulled, and prodded in so many ways. It’s healthy for me!

Pressure not only reveals of our character, but it forces us to develop our character.

There is a verse in Proverbs that speaks of the little foxes that spoil the vines.

It is the small things in life that can make an enormous impact.

For example, a smile that can brighten someones day or a harsh word that is like a blow to the spirit.

I have been working on cutting back my portion sizes, becuase I have been eating more than I need. Even the right foods in the wrong quantity can effect our health and weight.

I have been making small changes.

  • Keeping my finger out of the nut butter. (15-20 calories) x7 days = 105-140 cal
  • Using less milk and adding some decaf coffee in a morning smoothie. (30 calories) x 4 = 120 cals
  • Eating lighter meals in the evening. (100-150 calories) x 7 =700-1050 cals
  • Eating more raw vegetables than cooked. (more nutrients, more chew time) x 7 = feeling fuller and more satisfied
  • Leaving coffee black instead of a splash of soy. (10 calories) x 7 = 70 cals
  • Max 3 servings of fruit a day instead of 4. (60-75 calories) x 7 = 420-525 cals

Potential calories cut out in a week = 1,055-1,905

It has not all been cutting back around here though. I have also been doing more.

  • Standing at work for at least half of the day. (Keep that metabolism up!)
  • Washing my car by hand, instead of driving through. (Must have burned a couple cals)
  • Adding 30 minutes to my Sunday ride. (200 calories)

Those are all little things. Things that do not seem to matter, in light of the calories required to lose a pound.

1 pound of body fat= 3,500 calories

When you are working toward a goal of being a healthy weight, one pound matters.

When you are trying to run farther and faster, one pound (really) matters.

All monumental change is the result of cumulative smaller changes.

I did not lose 56.4 (if every pound counts, then every ounce does too) over night, or even in one month. It has been 11 months since I began losing weight.

Slowly and steadily my body has changed. Muscles have formed. Fat has diminished. My shape has changed.

While I have drastically changed the way I eat overall, it is the small changes that lead me forward on my weight-loss journey to a healthier me. Every single mile run, minute on the bike, crunch, lunge, well-portioned meal, and moment of self control combines together into a force that creates meaningful change. Change that can impact every day life, and health, and well-being.

What small sacrifices are you making today that have potential to enable greater change in your life?

What change have you made that seemed insignificant at the time, but turned out to be life altering?

7 Responses to “The Small Foxes”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race September 9, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    This is a great post. Congrats on your journey and congrats on recognizing that the small things matter.

    My small changes are to have gone to liquid breakfast before workouts that are 90 minutes or longer only, if shorter only water. Understanding my bodies composition has helped me to see that I don’t need that breakfast the way I thought I did for anything under 90 minutes.

    • weightsandmeasures September 9, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      Thanks. Realizing our power to make large impact with small changes is very empowering.

      What kind of liquid breakfast? I have been considering trying only water before my weekday workouts. They are ways under 90 min. My Saturday run is right at 90 right now. Many times I just have a date. Might be something I should try next week.

    • weightsandmeasures September 9, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Ironically read an article 15 minutes after my comment reply about whether or not you need to eat before running. I see a post coming 🙂

  2. Trish September 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Good thoughts! Sometimes I stop at the gym (or eat more cake) b/c i think, oh well, it doesn’t matter. But it does! Thanks for the insight!!
    I’m so glad I got to see you this morning!!

    • weightsandmeasures September 9, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      I try to think of the cumulative effect of actions. Burn a few more calories. Keep the heart rate up a few more minutes. Take in less energy (food). Expend more energy. It all adds up!

      While hour long work outs are great, if 30 minutes or even 15 is all that can happen that day, it still counts!

      Thank you so much for my coffee! Such a treat!

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 9, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I try to walk around at work during my breaks. That’s a big one for me!

    • weightsandmeasures September 10, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      That makes an enormous difference! I think it definitely helps my legs to recover. If I sit too much, my legs get stiff throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

