Trial and “Holy Moly”

8 Apr

Wednesday night I had an idea in my head of what I wanted for breakfast, but it was not something I had seen any where or even tasted before.  The idea was Chai Latte Overnight Oats.

In a bowl with a lid I put 1/4 c. oatbran, 1 T chia seeds, 1/4 c. unsweetened soy milk, 1/4 c. Oregon Trail Slightly Sweetened Chai Concentrate and 1/8 t of ginger.

This was a small batch of oats because I had a plan.  The plan went a little something like this…

A new plate purchased at Ross.

The other half of the oat bake recipe from yesterday, toasted in the oven on 350 until heated through.

Smear with 1 T pb total

Spoon on Chai Latte Oats and sprinkle with unsweetened coconut

Enjoy with coffee

Well, while my oat bake was toasting I was whipping up a little bit of vegan magic.  Don’t you dare see the “v” word and skip this recipe.  Vegan just means that it does not contain any animal products.  It does not mean that you have to stop wearing bras and grow out your hair or start protesting anything. You do not have to daily hug a howler monkey or subscribe to National Geographic.  Calm down… let’s get through this together.  Even omnivores can make vegan recipes. That means you.

I saw a recipe for Salted Chocolate and Pecan Cake Bars and drooled over the pictures right before bed Wednesday night.  I took a gander at the ingredients and thought, “I think I can veganize that.” So, I scrawled out a recipe and went to sleep.  In the morning, I was on a mission.  They were in the oven before I even ate a bite of breakfast.

These guys took a while to cook.  I hurriedly took them out and left the pan on a cooling rack, while I went and had my eyebrows weed-wacked sculpted by my good friend Cynthia, who patiently endures my lack of eyebrow upkeep.  (I am not ashamed to admit that I have old-man eyebrows.  Everyone can see them on my face, so why deny?)

I went to Starbucks (GP seriously needs a coffee shop that is privately owned) to get some writing done yesterday.  Seems like it took me longer than usual.  I did not want coffee (shocker, I know).

I did want a Naked Green Machine, though.  If you have never tried this, please do not let the color scare you.  It is delicious!

I then hit up the gym for 45 minutes of elliptical time.  I put it on the cross country setting, which was a new one for me.  By the time I left it was already 1 and I was hun-gry.

I have my priorities, so naturally I went to go check on the bars which waited patiently on the cooling rack.  As a lover of dessert, I know when something is going to be good and I knew that I had something magical in that pan.

I cut one corner out and took a bite and audibly said, “Holy Moly!”

They have the texture of undercooked brownie, but since they do not contain eggs there is no need to worry about undercooking.  Then there is the saltiness.  The chocolate chips were ooey and the pecans gave a little crunch and I was in love.

I thought it would be funny to put them on a lettuce plate.

Here is the recipe.  You are welcome.

“Holy Moly!” Salted Chocolate and Pecan Bars

Servings 15

1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 c. sucanat

1/3 t. sea salt

2 chia eggs (2 T chia seeds ground + 6 T of water + 5 min of rest)

1 t. vanilla extract

1/2 t baking powder

4 T soy milk (any milk will do)

3/4 c. vegan chocolate chips

1/2 c. chopped pecans

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan.

2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl.

3. Mix the eggs, vanilla, sucanat, and soy milk.

4. Add the flour mixture to the wet. Then stir in the chocolate and pecans.

5. Pour into greased loaf pan and cook for 32-35 minutes.

Nutritional info: 105 cal, 4.7 g fat, 0.6g saturated fat, 15g carbs, 2.6 g. fiber, 9.1 g sugar, 1.9 g protein  (per serving)

I ate two corner pieces before piling them all up for photos and then running to the shower.

The rest of lunch was quite a bit healthier.

That is a small green salad with cucumber and green onion with a bean burger patty and a dollop of Sabra roasted garlic hummus with carrots on the side. I made the bean burger with the Cuban black beans from Sunday.  (Cooking for 1 means lots of leftovers, even when you half the recipe.)

I had to attack the kitchen, because I made a big ol’ mess.  Then I had to run to work.  I felt rushed and I just do not like feeling rushed.

After work I took a couple of the “Holy Moly!” bars to my good friend, Ashley, because my taste buds are pretty skewed since giving up all refined sugar 4 months ago.  So sweet to me is not sweet to everyone.  She said that they were sweet, but salty too.  She liked them!

While chatting with her I consumed a small apple with almond butter, part of a cucumber, and some seeds… and one more “Holy Moly!” Bar. (It happens…)

Sometimes we have to act on an idea that is illogical (Chai Tea Oatmeal?) or tweak someone else’s idea (“Holy Moly!” bars).  Sometimes we try and it does not work out, but sometimes we have one of those days where it all comes together.  A life with “Holy Moly!” moments is more exciting.  It requires risk, but can result in reward.  In the end, it’s worth it.

2 Responses to “Trial and “Holy Moly””

  1. Christina April 8, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    There is a Blue Cow by my house…

    • weightsandmeasures April 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      Nope, not anymore. PS… do you want me to bring you a couple of these bars after work?

Leave a comment